About YIU

For over 70 years, Yong In University has been nurturing genuine leaders of talent and strong character.

Brief History

  • June 1953

    Korea Judo School was opened inSogong-dong, Seoul with the appointment of Lee, Beom Seok as the first principal of the school.

  • Korea Judo School, which is the forerunner of Yong In University, was opened at #111 Sogong-dong, Jung-gu, Seoul with gathering of renowned personalities in the fields of education and sports with noble intention of cultivating competent personnel to wisely lead the nation and people by establishing order in the society undergoing severe chaos immediately after the Korean War.

    1953년 6월
  • June 1971

    Promotion in status to an accredited 4-year academic institution

  • February 1985

    Campus was transferred again to Samga-dong, Yongin-si

  • July 1989

    Lee, Gyu Hoon was appointed to chairman of board of directors of Danho Academy, an educational foundation.

    1989년 7월
  • February 1990

    Changed the school name to Korea Sports Science University along with promotion of status to a 4-year course university.

  • April 1992

    It was then further promoted to the status of university.

  • March 1993

    Changed the name of the school to Yong In University.

    On the opportunity of promotion of status to a 4-year course university and change of the name to Yong In University, a total of 17 academic departments under 5 faculties were establish with increase in the prescribed number of students to 860, thereby establishing the opportunity for catapulting to the status of a full-fledged university.

    1993년 3월
  • September 1993

    Graduate school courses were newly established.

  • February 1994

    Dr. Kim, Jeong Haeng was appointed the president of the university.

  • September 1994

    School structure was expanded to 5 colleges.

  • February 2004

    Establishment of industry-academia collaboration center.

  • September 2007

    Public health and welfare university was reorganized into 6 newly established colleges.

  • January 2014

    Installation of senior service center as a subsidiary facility of Social Service Center.

  • March 2014

    Dr. Park Sun-Kyoung was appointed the president of the University in March 2014.

  • March 2022

    Dr. Jin-Soo Han was appointed the president of the University in March 2022.

    2022년 3월